Newspaper, radio students win awards


Clarion Staff

Members of The Clarion staff attended MediaFest22 in Washington DC on Oct. 26-30. Pictured, from left are Kelly Feng, managing editor, Iman Alrashid, copy editor, Taleise Lawrence, assistant editor, and Lillian Coppelman, editor in chief.

Clarion Staff Report

The Clarion received four Pacemaker honors and seven Best of Show Awards from the Associated Collegiate Press at the MediaFest22  National College Media Convention held in Washington D.C. on Oct. 26-30. In addition, the group was honored for being one of the Top 100 Pacemaker winners since the inception of the award. 

The four Pacemaker recognitions went to Kaleia Lawrence, Ivan Becerril Gutierrez, Steven Andriantsiratahina and the podcast team of Claudia Fuss and Asime Ibraimi. 

Lawrence, the editor-in-chief during the 2021-22 school year, was a finalist for two-year college reporter of the year and earned honorable mention recognition. 

Becerril Gutierrez, the design director during the 2021-22 school year, won third place in the individual Pacemaker contest for front page design. 

Andriantsiratahina won fourth place for an advertisement he created that was published during the spring 2022 semester promoting the Yahara Journal’s Bad Love Poem Contest. 

Fuss and Ibraimi were individual Pacemaker finalists for 2021-22 Podcast of the Year for their podcast on Clarion Radio called “Real Nonsense,” earning an honorable mention. 

All the Pacemaker recognitions were for work done during the 2021-2022 school year. The Best of Show Awards that were presented on Oct. 30 were for work done since the start of the current school year.  

The Clarion took second place in two-year college broadcast news for a newscast created by editor Lillian Coppelman and managing editor Kelly Feng.  

The newspaper earned a fifth-place best of show award in two-year college websites and seventh place in two-year college newspapers. 

Graphic designer Valenzia Cina earned a seventh-place best of show award for page design for a feature page she produced. 

A radio advertisement produced by Mary Joan Nastri and Alperen Bakirci promoting the WolfPack Wisdom Channel’s Monster Mania Contest placed seventh in the best of show advertising competition. 

The “Real Nonsense” podcast produced by Fuss and Ibraimi was again recognized in the best of show competition, earning a ninth-place award. 

In the Literary Arts Magazine category, the Yahara Journal earned a third-place best of show for two-year colleges. 

Finally, advisor Doug Kirchberg was honored as an inaugural recipient of the ACP Pioneer Award. In honor of its 100th birthday, the ACP celebrated journalism educators and advocates who have provided exceptional leadership for collegiate media programs and made exceptional contributions to collegiate journalism. 

The Pioneer is the only award ACP presents to journalism educators. A six-member committee of retired and active advisers from across the nation reviewed and selected the honorees.