The Clarion receives 7 national awards

Clarion Staff Report

The Clarion staff received seven awards at the Associated Collegiate Press National College Media Convention held virtually Oct. 12-14. Three of the awards were for Pacemaker Finalists and four were best-of-show honors. 

Former managing editor Chris Bird received two Pacemaker Finalist awards. He was selected as a honorable mention winner for two-year college reporter of the year and as a Pacemaker honorable mention winner for editorial writing. 

Design director Ivan Becerril-Gutierrez was a Pacemaker Finalist in the Newspaper Page Design category, winning honorable mention recognition. 

In the Best of Show Competition, The Clarion won second place in the two-year college newspaper category and second place in the two-year college website category. 

Paige Zezulka and Morgan Engels took seventh place best of show in the multimedia category, winning for a story and video about the college’s new Early Learning Campus. 

Illustrator Steven Andriantsiratahina won fifth place best of show in the advertising design category for an advertisement he created promoting the Yahara Journal’s Bad Love Poem Contest. 

The Associated Collegiate Press is a national organization for collegiate journalists and collegiate-journalism advisors that was founded in 1921. The Clarion has been a long-time member of the group.