Student Success award winners recognized


Photo provided to the Clarion

Members of the Programs and Activities Council pose for a photo with speaker Erika Gilchrist after an event on campus this year. PAC was selected as the college’s Outstanding Student Organization of the Year.

Student leaders throughout Madison College were honored during three watch parties hosted by the Executive Leadership Team at the end of April.

Each watch party had its own emphasis – excellence in education, club and student leader recognition, and excellence in leadership. More than 120 students were nominated for special recognition in a variety of categories.

Sali Diallo and Chungyi Law led the Excellence in Leadership Watch Party. The Club and Organization watch party was led by Jophia Turner and Solomon Adedeji. The Academic Excellence watch party was officiated by Julie Gao and Fatima Hydara.

Three students received the Karen Roberts Student Life Leadership Award, the highest recognition awarded to a Madison College student leader. The winners were Bo Suh, Brittany Campbell and Rocky Blanco.

Suh has served as a tutor at the Student Achievement Center, a Supplemental Instruction leader and President of the Phi Theta Kapp Honor Society. Campbell has helped lead a college alternative break trip, served as President of the Wisconsin Region for Phi Theta Kappa and was a co-chair of the college’s Student Affairs Council of Shared Governance. Blanco, a nursing student, has served as a representative on the college’s Equity and Inclusion Committee.

Three students were honored for completing the Student Life Leadership Certificate: Katrina Willis, Nancy Garduno and Jackson Thomsen. To achieve this award, students must complete 20 hours of civic engagement, hold a leadership position at the college, take part in leadership development activities and interview community leaders.

Other honors presented at the watch party were:

  • Outstanding Student Employee of the Year – Carolyn Kosabucki, Kerry Devlin and Dora Aranda.
  • Devi Bhargava Award – Arik McGraw.
  • Terry S. Webb Shared Governance Leadership Award – C.J. Chiefe, Sheila Runge and Brittany Campbell.
  • Student Senate Merit Awards – Sheila Runge and Aleem Syed.
  • Student Excellence in Diversity Award – Jacob Vang and Keyiona Johnson.
  • Student Ambassadors of Distinction – Nic Leighty, Carmen Meyers, Jasmine Her and Ashley Meeks.
  • Club Advisor of the Year – Theresa Laws-Dahl
  • Outstanding Student Group for Academic Achievement – International Interior Design Association Wisconsin Campus Center.
  • Outstanding Student Club of the Year – Okami Taiko.
  • Outstanding Student Organization of the Year – Programs and Activities Council.
  • Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year – Theresa Laws-Dahl, Business Professionals of America.
  • Outstanding Student Group Award for Community Service – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.
  • Outstanding Student Tutor of the Year – Ana Paula Rodovalho Fernandes Moreira and Nelson Dresser.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Academic Advancement – Megan Erickson, Blanca Cruz and Robert Finberg.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Applied Science, Engineering and Technology – Kenton Krueger, Jerad Lensmire and KD Denzel.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Health Education – Brooke Hackler and Kayla Adank.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Arts and Sciences – Andrea Long, Christine Hovey and Rose Whitehead.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Human and Protective Services – Sugar Thomas-Rodgers, Derek Heinzelman and Victoria Nunez.
  • Exemplary Learner of the Year, School of Business and Applied Arts – Alex Bohlinger, Jodie Moss and Sara McDonald.
  • Distinguished Teachers of the Year – Dr. Cherif Correa, Catherine Stover and Dr. Mary Vogel.