Student leaders honored at college’s annual awards banquet


Clarion Staff

Karen Roberts Student Life Leadership Award winners were, from left, Aminata Sowe, Deyshia Kinsey, Tim Myers, Andrew Kicmol and Steven Ansorge

Katie Paape, News Editor

The Executive Leadership Team recognized student leaders and instructors at Madison College during an “Leadership in Wonderland” themed Celebration of Student Success held on April 25.

There were over 90 nominees and 11 different categories. Nominees included high achieving students, teachers, and volunteers from Madison College who go above and beyond their leadership roles to better the community and life at the college.

Five students were recognized as the Karen Roberts Student Life Leadership Award winners. They were Steven Ansorge, Andrew Kicmol, Deyshia Kinsey, Tim Myers and Aminata Sowe.

Established in recognition of Karen Roberts, who served as the Student Life administrator for many of her 31 years at the college, the award is the highest honor given to student leaders at Madison College.

Each of the award winners have demonstrated exemplary leadership as they served in a variety of leadership roles both on and off campus.

Ansorge served as the Student Senate president for the 2018-19 school year and helped lead initiatives related to textbook affordability and student hunger. His nominator credited his leadership for creating “stronger ties between the Senate and the leaders of Madison College.”

Kicmol was the editor in chief of The Clarion newspaper for the past year and a show host on Clarion Radio. Under his leadership, the newspaper was selected as the top student newspaper in the state by the Wisconsin Newspaper Association and the top two-year college newspaper in the Midwest by the Associated Collegiate Press.

Kinsey is the co-founder of the WolfPack Diamonds dance team and the president of United Common Ground. Her nominator wrote that “she goes above and beyond to make students feel like Madison College is their home. She has shown students the clubs, organizations and involvement can help you build a connection with people.”

Myers is the current national parliamentarian for SkillsUSA. Last year, as the state SkillsUSA officer, he helped lead the Fall Emerging Leaders Conference and placed third in the nation for the Additive Manufacturing Team. This June, he will help lead the 55th annual SkillsUSA National Leadership Skills Conference.

Sowe is the president of the African Student Association and the vice president of community involvement for ELT. In addition, she serves as a volunteer for the Community Action Coalition food pantry. Her nominator said that “as president of ASA, she has been an incredible mentor and support system for all its members.”

All the students at Student Life work very hard for their achievements. Many of them have part-time or full-time jobs in addition to a full course load and being involved in student groups and leadership roles.

The awards demonstrate the students’ and staff’s appreciation for the people who make Madison College the best it can possibly be. With outstanding faculty and the determination of exceptional students, the college continues to be community focused, diverse, academically strong, and welcoming to every student who comes in from any background.

Other awards presented at the event included:

Outstanding Tutors of the Year – Pahulpreet Singh, Breanna Zabel.

Outstanding Student Employees of the Year – Ayelen Bravo, Abigail Felstehausen, Megan Himmerich, Lizbeth Lopez-Rico.

Outstanding Student Group, Academic Achievement – International Interior Design Association.

Outstanding Student Club of the Year – STEM Club.

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year – The Clarion.

Devi Bhargava Award – Chynna McNair.

Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year – Rafael Perez.

Terry S. Webb Shared Governance Leadership Award – Cat Larsen, Katrina Willis, Mike Lussenden, Laura Osinski.

Distinguished Teachers – Brad McDowell, Lisa Bach, Dr. Stacy Zobel.

Student Excellence in Diversity Award – Kalia Vang.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Academic Advancement – Marvin Prather, Curtis Ihlenfeldt.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Applied Science, Engineering and Technology – Andrew Allison, Noah Stoltz.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Business and Applied Arts – Karen Endthoff, Maria Alvarez.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Health Education – Stacey Duncan.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Human and Protective Services – Stefano Livorni.

Student Ambassadors of Distinction – Cat Larsen, Emma Laufenberg, Ayla Lopez, Alicia Dougherty, Fiona Maxwell.

Student Life Leadership Certificate – Kassandra Gossens, Boh Suh.