The Clarion receives 18 awards from the Wisconsin College Media Association


Clarion Staff

Current and former members of The Clarion display the awards they received at the WNA’s annual convention on March 8. Pictured, from left, are Emily Dimond, Andrew Kicmol, Megan Binkley, Jessica Pokrandt and Sean Bull.


The Clarion, Madison College’s student newspaper, won 18 awards from the Wisconsin College Media Association’s Better Newspaper Contest, including first place general excellence for state collegiate newspapers.

The awards were presented on March 8 at the Wisconsin Newspaper Association’s annual convention held in Madison.

Other awards received by the newspaper were:

Alexandra Christensen won first place in page design for the Nov. 22, 2017, front page, and first place infographic for an illustration depicting the results of the Student Senate’s hunger survey from last year.

Bernadette Witzack received a first-place award in advertising design for an advertisement for a United Common Ground event called Changing the Narrative. She also won third place in the same category for her Winterfest ad.

Andrew Kicmol won second place in public affairs reporting for a story about the Wolves Share resource fair and Senate’s efforts to help with food insecurity.

Adrienne Oliva took second place in the in-depth story category for her article about what students should do in the event of an active shooter situation.

Megan Binkley received a second-place award in editorial writing for an editorial encouraging Rep. Paul Ryan to take action to prevent mass shootings.

Emily Dimond won second place in feature photography for her Snacks with Santa photograph from the Dec. 5 issue, while Max Goldberg finished third in feature photography with his record store day photograph.

Tessa Morhardt finished in third place in the sports photography category for a photo from a women’s soccer game. Kicmol placed third in sports reporting for his story about the college’s concussion protocol.

Hannah Switzer received a third-place award in column writing for her column about the college’s Title IV video series entitled “A Survivor’s Perspective.”

Kicmol and Sean Bull worked together on the multimedia category third place winner that accompanied the concussion protocol story. Jessica Deegan, Jessica Pokrandt and Max Goldberg received honorable mention in multimedia for a report on the college’s welding program.

Oliva was recognized in breaking news reporting with an honorable mention award for her article about how immigration policy changes impacted current and former students.

The newspaper’s website,, received an honorable mention award as well.

Finally, Deegan was recognized as one of the top student journalists in the state, receiving honorable mention recognition in the collegiate journalist of the year competition.