Student leaders recognized at annual success banquet



Karen Roberts Student Life Leadership award winners, from left, Ousman Darboe, Christina Marshalek, Kalia Vang, Katrina Willis and Jessica Pokrandt join Dr. Keith Cornille for a photo.

Students leaders and instructors at Madison College were recognized during the Celebration of Student Success held on April 26.

Five students were recognized as the Karen Roberts Student Life Leadership Award winners. They were Ousman Darboe, Christina Marshalek, Jessica Pokrandt, Kalia Vang and Katrina Willis.

Established in recognition of Karen Roberts, who served as the Student Life administrator for many of her 31 years at the college, the award is the highest honor given to student leaders at Madison College.

Each of the award winners have demonstrated exemplary leadership as they served in a variety of leadership roles both on and off campus.

Other awards presented at the event included:

Outstanding Tutors of the Year – John Clark, Gregory Desjarlais.

Outstanding Student Employees of the Year – Matias Zepeda, Brice Conseibo.

Outstanding Student Group, Academic Achievement – Student Nurses Association.

Outstanding Student Group, Community Service – Automotive Club.

Outstanding Student Club of the Year – Business Professionals of America.

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year – Student Senate.

Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year – Jessica Feggestad.

Devi Bhargava Award –  Hans Jacobson.

Student Senate Leadership Merit Award – Steven Ansorge, Olivia Arndt, Katrina Willis.

Terry S. Webb Shared Governance Leadership Award – Steven Ansorge, Christina Marshalek, Tina Rettler-Pagel and Penny Johnson.

Distinguished Teachers Award – Dr. Charles Benton, Natalie Pinkovitz, Jan Schaefer, Dr. Jennifer Gavinski.

Student Diversity Award – Jesus Garza-Noriega, Katrina Willis.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Academic Advancement – Carlos Castillo, Phillip Morgan.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Applied Science, Engineering and Technology – Timothy Myers, Steven Ansorge.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Arts and Sciences – Andrew Fedosky, Adrienne Oliva.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Business and Applied Arts – Craig Ahrendt, Mai Der Vang.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Health Education – Dallas Procki, Hassanatou Bah.

Exemplary Learners of the Year, Human and Protective Services – Sarah Branch, Joseph Soehnlein.

Student Ambassadors of Distinction – Zach Borleske, Emily Cameron, Tony Encizo, Antonio Yang.

Student Life Leadership Certificate – Matias Zepeda.